AGB Institute for Leadership & Governance Participants: Where Are They Now?

The AGB Institute for Leadership & Governance is preparing to welcome its fifth cohort to the pathway to the presidency. To celebrate this milestone, we look at the current whereabouts of the first, second, and third cohort members:

Cohort 1: Class of 2019

The Class of 2019 has seen incredible success since its completion. To date, nine of the eleven presidents to be appointed from past participants have been Cohort 1 participants:

Thomas Gibson
Chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

James Lentini
President, Molloy College

Lynn Mahoney
President, San Francisco State University

Willie McKether
Chancellor, Thomas Jefferson University, East Falls

Shari McMahan
President, Eastern Washington University

Felecia Nave
President, Alcorn State University

Dione Somerville
President, Owens Community College

Tim Taylor
President, Shawnee Community College

Brock Tessman
President, Northern Michigan University

Other participants of the first cohort have made significant progress on their career paths:

James Bradley was appointed Associate Vice President of Enterprise Services at Sam Houston State University.

Phillip “Flapp” Cockrell was named Vice President for Campus Engagement, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion at Cleveland State University.

Anthony Hancock was named Interim President of Pierpont Community & Technical College.

Keith W. McIntosh was appointed Vice President for Information Services and Chief Information Officer at the University of Richmond.

Jason Pina was appointed Vice President for University Life & Global Programs at New York University.

Dave Rosowsky was named Vice President for Research at Kansas State University.

Reginald A. Wilburn was named Dean of the School of Interdisciplinary Studies at Texas Christian University.


Cohort 2: Class of 2020

The Class of 2020 continues to showcase successful leaders, including the appointment of Keith Whitfield as President of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas:

Karen Ferguson was appointed Interim President of Salem University.

Jeanine E. Gangeness was appointed Program Director for Midwest Nursing Academic Affairs at the Mayo Clinic.

Junius Gonzales was named Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Montclair State University.

Martino Harmon was named Vice President for Student Life at the University of Michigan.

Karen Riley was appointed Provost of Regis University.

Terrell Strayhorn was appointed Professor of Higher Education and Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies, and Director of the Doctoral Program in the Department of Educational Administration & Foundations (EAF) at Illinois State University.

Scott L. Thomas was named the John P. “Jack” Ellbogen Dean of the College of Education at the University of Wyoming.


Cohort 3: Class of 2021

Barely half a year since the completion of their cohort, and already the participants of Cohort 3 have seen progress with their newfound skills, including the appointment of Antonio D. Tillis as Chancellor of Rutgers University-Camden:

Tierney Bates was named Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at the University of South Carolina Upstate.

Jennifer Brown was appointed Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at California State Polytechnic University-Pomona.

Karla Leeper was appointed Vice Chancellor for Strategic Communications and Public Affairs at the University of Kansas.

Remzi Seker was named Vice President for Research and Innovation at Western Michigan University.

J. Rex Tolliver was named Vice President for Student Affairs and Academic Success at the University of South Carolina.


Are you ready to take your next steps on the pathway to the presidency? Applications and nominations are now open for the AGB Institute Class of 2023-2024. Apply or nominate a candidate today!

Posted on 10.07.2022