AGB Institute for Leadership & Governance in Higher Education Welcomes New Class of Aspiring Presidents

Washington, D.C., March 16, 2021 – The AGB Institute for Leadership & Governance in Higher Education has announced the selected participants for the class of 2021. The six-month program is designed for individuals who aspire to presidencies at four-year public research universities and regional comprehensive institutions. Twenty-nine participants from institutions around the country will begin their experience in June with a day-long virtual symposium.

The Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB) and higher education executive search firm AGB Search founded the institute to bolster the pipeline of qualified, diverse presidential candidates and prepare participants for the rigors of institutional leadership. Now entering its third year, the program has already seen six of its graduates achieve appointments to college or university presidencies. “Those who are stepping up prepared to serve in leadership roles are faced with unprecedented challenges on a global scale,” Dr. Nancy Zimpher, director of the institute, said. “Our aim has always been to ensure these up-and-coming leaders are ready to immediately step into their roles and guide their universities with confidence.”

The participants of the Class of 2021 (Cohort 3) are:

Dr. Lynn Akey
Vice President for Student Success, Analytics and Integrated Planning
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Dr. Lance R. Askildson
Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs Professor of Linguistics
Chaminade University

Dr. Tierney Bates
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Special Projects, Interim Executive Director for University Career Services
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Mr. Christopher Bright
Consultant, Professorial Lecturer
Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University

Dr. Jennifer Brown
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
University of California Riverside

Dr. Michael Edmondson
Interim Director
New Jersey City University-Ft. Monmouth

Dr. Anthony Graham
Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Winston-Salem State University

Dr. David Graham
Assistant Vice Provost, Office of Student Academic Success
The Ohio State University

Dr. Brooke Hallowell
Dean of the School of Health Sciences
Springfield College

Mr. Steven Hardy
Vice President for Finance and Administrative Services
Passaic County Community College

Dr. Darryl B. Holloman
Vice President for Student Affairs
Spelman College

Dr. Erick Jones
Professor, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, College of Engineering
University of Texas at Arlington

Dr. Margaret Kasimatis
Interim Executive Vice President, Provost and Senior VP for Academic Affairs, Professor of Education
Saint Mary’s College of California

Dr. Kerop Janoyan
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of La Verne

Mr. Greg King
Vice President for University Advancement
University of Mount Union

Dr. Karla Leeper
Executive Vice President for Operations
Augusta University/Augusta University Health

Dr. L. Michael McCloud
Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Johnson County Community College

Ms. Monique McKay
University Ombuds and Assistant to the President
Florida Gulf Coast University

Dr. Charles T. Moses
Dean of the School of Management
University of San Francisco

Dr. Charles Mouton
Executive Vice President, Provost, Dean of the School of Medicine
University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine

Dr. Giovanni Piedimonte
Vice President for Research and Institutional Official
Tulane University

Dr. Diana Rogers-Adkinson
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Bloomberg University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Jason Ruckert
Vice President for Enrollment Management
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Dr. Remzi Seker
Associate Provost for Research
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Dr. Robert Stroker
Dean and Vice Provost
Temple University

Dr. Antonio Tillis
Interim President
University of Houston-Downtown

Dr. J. Rex Tolliver
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
University of Illinois Chicago

Dr. Henry Williams
Provost Fellow; Director, Emerging Leaders Scholars Program
Purdue University

Dr. Bobby Woodard
Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
Auburn University

Cohort members’ bios and photos can be found here.

The AGB Institute for Leadership & Governance is composed of two symposia, four monthly webinars, attendance at the AGB National Conference on Trusteeship and a shadowing experience with a sitting president. The institute features more than 30 higher education expert presenters including current and former presidents, trustees, search consultants and other sector professionals.

Research shows that the average tenure of college presidents in their current positions was six-and-a-half years in 2016, down from about seven years in 2011 and an average of eight-and-a-half years in 2006. The data suggest that a larger pool of qualified leaders is needed to meet the demands of the higher education sector. The presidency itself is also transforming, with more emphasis placed on technology, fundraising and the changing student demographic.

To learn more about the institute, visit

Posted on 03.16.2021